A new way of thinking

As I’ve mentioned before I read a lot of other blogs for daily inspiration, advice and just general life-window shopping. My favourite blogs vary in subject, from inspiring words to makeup magic to seriously good debt advice. I’ve just added a ‘Blog Love’ page to my blog and I promise to start adding links to blogs that I read on a daily basis or have come across and been inspired by for one reason or another.

One of the blogs that I have been reading more and more is Man Vs. Debt. It is a fantastic blog with loads and loads of advice and other people’s debt stories. I have just downloaded their ‘Unautomate Your Finances’ guide and am currently reading my way through it one step at a time. Although I’m only on Chapter 2, so far a lot of what Baker (the founder of Man Vs. Debt) has to say is hitting home….HARD! This journey that I am embarking on is not just about paying back my debt and freeing myself financially but it is also about learning a whole new way of approaching and thinking about money. I do not want to be in this situation anymore or have this situation happen to me again in the future and to ensure that I really need to change the way I look at money, the way I look at myself and the way I look at the world.

I have definitely been guilty of being one of those people who want the easy way out. I see something and I have to have it. Now I haven’t necessarily gone to extremes and brought designer goods or a flash car but I have definitely been living above my means for the last 2-3 years and also not thought seriously enough about the financial steps I have taken in that time. My biggest problem, I believe, was in paying credit off with credit. I had a credit card and to clear that I got a loan, which in turn freed up the card for more spending, and so on and so on. See the problem?

Now I find myself at my lowest ebb, financially. I have enough to cover my bills but only a couple of hundred pounds leftover after that to pay for food, petrol and any other expenses. I have hit rock bottom. Personally for me the worst part of all this is the emotional and psychological toll as well as feeling totally and utterly trapped in this cycle.

I’m not sitting in the corner crying though (well occasionally on a really,really tough week I do). No, I have already taken steps to change this, but I am still a long way from starting to climb this mountain. I have cut back all bills that I can. I have started shopping smarter and at cheaper supermarkets. I have stopped going out at all, unless it’s to friend’s houses. I have got a second part-time job. I am starting to sell what I can on Amazon/Ebay. I hope that with persistence and sheer determination I will reach the peak and be able to see a much clearer and more attractive vision of my and my son’s future! Fingers crossed.

 

Leave a Reply

